Hack Attack! Private Trackers Getting Hacked?

T P S
We are Society.
Apply for membership

othersna

Ex Staff
Gold
We are getting scattered reports of some trackers either getting hacked or exploited in some way, and then the userbase begins to get PMs (on the site) or even e-mails with scam e-mail, usually a request for donations in Bitcoin. It isn't clear how these exploits are occurring, whether it be a hacker getting a staffer's password and accessing the userbase that way, or actually using a hacker technique such as SQL insertion. (Note I am a relative tech n00b, so I cannot get into the specifics of what that means.)

However, this blog article is written for regular tracker members and what it means for them. First, be wary if you get an unsolicited PM from a tracker and it looks suspicious. Some may fool you, if it comes from "System" or an actual staff member. If the PM asks for donations, hold off a bit and check the forums to see if the staff has posted anything about a bogus PM scheme. At one tracker, I once saw a bogus PM asking members to click a link to fix something, and it really did look legitimate. Potentially it could have put malware on your computer. The staff there even suggested members "format their hard drive." :eek:

If you get an unsolicited e-mail requesting you to donate, or to clicka link to an e-mail address you use at trackers, also beware. This is also why I recommend torrenters make up a gmail or similar e-mail address to be used with torrenting and nothing else, and it should not have your real name in the profile.